Many security breaches—even high-profile ones—stem from a simple oversight. There’s one spot in macOS that has long been particularly susceptible to such lapse: the Sharing pane of System Preferences. In it, you can enable a wide variety of sharing services, some of which could allow another user to access your Mac remotely. They all let you limit access to particular users, but passwords can be stolen, accounts can be compromised, and server software can have bugs. For safety’s sake, if you’re not actively using a sharing service, turn it off. The most important ones to disable when not in use are Screen Sharing, File Sharing, Remote Login, Remote Management, and Remote Apple Events. We also caution against leaving Printer Sharing and Internet Sharing on unnecessarily.

In short, if you are not sure, just turn them all off.  You can always turn them back on if needed. If you work with an IT team you should always check with them to be sure they don't need anything special set up here. Remember turning everything off can be reversed easily enough if something seems to "break".

 

(Featured image by Morgane Perraud on Unsplash)

 


Would you like to be a Power User? Sign up for "The Fix" our Mac Tips and Tricks newsletter here.
If you have any questions you can reach The MacGuys+ at 763-331-6227 or schedule an on-site visit here
 Mac IT for the Minneapolis, St. Paul, Twin Cities Metro, and Western WI Area! Nation Wide Work Anyplace Mac IT Support.